Google account privacy settings to change

Google account privacy settings to change

Google account privacy settings to change. The Google account is a personal tool that allows access to Google services through an email address and a password predefined by its owner. But, many users are victims of hacking because they do not master the different methods of setting up their account. However, it is very important to change the privacy settings of your Google account.

Enable two-factor authentication

Two-factor authentication, commonly known as 2FA, is a very effective way to secure your Google account. Indeed, 2FA allows you to protect your account even if someone manages to guess your password. This is a strong method that requires a second verification after inserting your password. It is highly recommended for accessing certain Google services and is also easy to activate. To do this, you must:

  • Log in to the backoffice of your Google account;
  • Go to the account space;
  • Click on “password and security”;
  • Then click on the “TWO-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION” option;
  • Choose the A2F you want (by email, by SMS or by a third party)

Finally, you just have to follow the instructions given by the site to complete the process. From now on, you will receive a verification code (depending on the method you chose) each time you try to log into your Google account.

Enable the “Enhanced Safe Browsing” feature in Chrome

Google Account Privacy Settings

The “Enhanced Safe Browsing” feature is a very important feature that helps you in the process of securing your Google Account. Indeed, it is a mode which, once activated, systematically warns you when you access a dangerous or unsecured site.

It allows you to avoid sites that could pose a threat to your account data. This feature sends you password leak alerts and tracks your Google activity.

Protect your Google activity with a password

Google activity is all the actions you take online. It also groups the sites you visit from your Google account. It is necessary to protect your Google history with a password if you value your privacy online. To do this, you must:

  • Access the “my activity” page on Google;
  • Then select the option “manage the validation of my activity”
  • Click on “require additional validation”;
  • Then click on “save”;
  • Set a password;

Thus, to access your Google activity, a password will be requested each time. Anyone can’t view your Google history without this password.

Delete your Gmail without deleting your Google Account

Gmail and Google accounts are linked. But there is a way to delete your Gmail account without deleting your Google account. To succeed in this manipulation, religiously follow the steps below.

  • You must log in to the backoffice of your Google account;
  • You go to the menu to click on “data and personalization”;
  • Click on the “delete a service or your account” tab and then on “delete a Google service”
  • Log in by inserting your password;
  • On the page that will appear, you need to click on the delete icon that is next to Gmail.

Because of this, your Gmail account will be deleted without your Google account being deleted. However, you can insert a recovery address in the account deletion process in case you want to use it later.

Disable “OK google” history

Protect your Google activity with a password
Protect your Google activity with a password

The “OK Google” history is a voice command that allows you to interact with Google assistance. This command makes it easier for you to search Google, but you can turn it off if you want. To do it :

  • Go to “voice and audio activities”;
  • Then click on “details” according to the command you want to deactivate (here, it’s the “OK Google” command);
  • Click “delete” to finish.

Automatic deletion of your web and location history

Google’s web and location history permanently stores all the sites you have visited from your account. But if you don’t like this retention, you can change your Google Account settings that will allow you to automatically delete your web and location history through Google’s system enhancements. To do it :

  • Go to your Google account;
  • Click on “data and personalization”;
  • Then select the “web and app activity” tab;
  • Click on “manage history” and then on “choose to delete automatically”

With this option enabled, you no longer need to manually delete your Google history. It erases itself according to the period you have defined (3 months or 18 months).

Remove a Google Account from Chrome

The Chrome browser is one of the most used search engines on Android and computers. It is through it that you can connect your Google account in order to do research or visit sites. But if you want, you can also remove your Google account from this browser. There is a very simple way to do this.

  • Log in to your Google account;
  • Select the “data and privacy” tab
  • Then go to the section “your data and privacy options”
  • Click on “remove account from this device”
  • Follow the rest of the instructions to complete the removal of your Google account from the Chrome browser.

Managing apps connected to your Google Account

Google users have the ability to link their account to apps that request it. This makes it easier to create other accounts or access various services. There is also a maneuver to manage these applications if they are no longer in use.

  • First go to your Google account settings;
  • Find and click on the “services” tab
  • Then select “connected applications”

In this section you will find all the applications connected to your Google account. You therefore have the option of dissociating them from your account. You can also change the options that connect your account to these apps.

Delete your data from a Google service

Google permanently saves the data of these users when creating their accounts. But for personal reasons, you may decide to delete your data from a Google service. In this case, the deletion of your data takes place after a request. To do this, you must:

  • Go to the Google support page;
  • Select “launch deletion request”
  • Fill in the form that will be displayed to notify the data you wish to delete;
  • Finally, click on “send”.
  • Once the request has been processed, your data will be deleted.
Delete your data from a Google service
Delete your data from a Google service

Set up your Google Account to be automatically deleted (or shared) when you die

After you die, no one can access your Google Account unless they know your password. But the Google service has made a feature available that allows you to automatically share or delete your account when you die. This is a very nifty feature of Google that many users are unaware of. To activate it, follow the steps if after.

  • Access your account by clicking on your profile picture;
  • Then click on “account management”;
  • Select “learn more and access settings”;
  • You must then give an email address or a telephone number on which you will be informed before Google initiates the process;
  • You must also define a delay after which the process will be triggered;
  • Then fill in the form that will appear;
  • Finally, click on “activate”;
  • If you want to share your data, you must define the person who will receive it;
  • If you want your account to be deleted, it will be deleted at the end of the period you have predefined.

Activating this feature alerts people you have defined that you have stopped using your Google account for a while. It will also help you to automatically share your data or delete your account if you want.